The Dignity Initiative is a network of organizations and individuals from across Canada interested in encouraging a stronger Canadian voice on human rights issues facing LGBTI communities around the world. The initiative has the twin objectives of strengthening both solidarity work by Canadian civil society groups and Canada’s foreign policy commitment to the realization of human rights for LGBTI people internationally.

Formed shortly after the WorldPride Human Rights Conference, held in Toronto in June 2014, the initiative is led by a working group of 22 individuals from across Canada, representing a range of organizations. The working group provides overall governance and advice to the Dignity Initiative.

The fiscal and administrative sponsor for the Dignity Initiative is currently the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network. The Network is also providing research and communications support. The Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies at the University of Toronto is providing additional support around research. The Institute for Sexual Minority Studies and Services at the University of Alberta is also providing resources and support to the initiative.

L’Initiative dignité : pour le progrès des droits humains des LGBTI dans le monde

L’Initiative dignité est un réseau d’organismes et d’individus des quatre coins du Canada qui souhaitent favoriser une voix canadienne plus forte, au sujet des enjeux de droits de la personne pour les communautés LGBTI dans le monde. L’initiative poursuit un double objectif : rehausser à la fois le travail de solidarité des groupes de la société civile canadienne et l’engagement du Canada à des politiques étrangères propices au plein exercice des droits humains des personnes LGBTI à l’échelon international.

Le parrain administratif et financier de l’Initiative dignité est le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida, qui y contribue également par son soutien à la recherche et aux communications. Le Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies de l’Université de Toronto fournit un soutien additionnel à la recherche. L’Institut d’études et de services sexuels minoritaires à l’Université de l’Alberta fournit également des ressources et le soutien à l’initiative.

11204891_1494655817491238_4676019671496679156_n 10476400_1494655937491226_6088398675652694406_n 11108381_1494655764157910_4269878231101223361_n 11329784_1494656170824536_61355922315269312_n DX_Dignity 10421516_1494655284157958_8425338290098769074_n 11167957_1494656080824545_5892879716646400458_n 11141115_1494656040824549_8162516111877840478_n 11377206_1494655437491276_7997041927054291805_n 10430843_1494655247491295_8600384605302118552_n